Go Back   HondaShowOff.com Forums > Modifications > Performance Mods

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2010, 02:50 PM   #1
CD5_SiR
Jr Member
 
CD5_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 74
CD5_SiR is on a distinguished road
Default OBD2A to OBD1 conv question...

Ok. My bro has a '96 EK Hatch with a '96 JDM GSR w/ LSD 5spd trans. He got his new p28 chipped ECU along with a OBD2A to OBD1 jumper harness, and he got those plugged in but it threw a code.

I'm assuming its a VTEC Pressure Switch code?? We pre-wired it from the ECU to the VTEC Solenoid and let hang by itself there in case he ever did the P28 Chipped ECU conv and now he did. So I believe that he'll need a USDM GSR VTEC Solenoid with a VTEC Pressure Switch??

It'll go all the way to 8K I believe but no VTEC and CEL is on.

Just wanted to know what else he needs to make this OBD2A to OBD1 conversion to work. Doesn't pull as hard as it did with the JDM P72 ECU he has.

Let me know.
__________________
CD5_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 08:39 PM   #2
Pata078
Powered by my
 
Pata078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 7,232
Pata078 will become famous soon enough
Default

this is strange. I have the exact some set up as your brother (minus the lsd trans lol).

98 Civic
OBD2a (was y7)
Gsr swap
using my y7 engine harness and wired vtec wires to ecu plugs
OBD2A to OBD1 ecu jumper (by the way, I sell these)
chipped p06 ecu with Chrome

my vtec cracks harder now then it did with the OBD2 p72 ecu.


what is the ecu chipped with?
what engine harness are you using?
is that vtec soleniod wires plugged into the ecu plugs?

I thought the swap came with the engine harness?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris42192 View Post
im searching for a FO' DO' FO' MO' HOE'

Last edited by Pata078; 10-29-2010 at 08:41 PM.
Pata078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 11:46 AM   #3
CD5_SiR
Jr Member
 
CD5_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 74
CD5_SiR is on a distinguished road
Default

Got it figured out by bypassing the VPS. The JDM motors don't come with VPS and their JDM ECU won't look for that. The USDM motors comes with VPS and their USDM ECU will look for that, so thats why it threw a CEL when he first installed it.

I was right that its a VTEC Pressure Switch code. VTEC is now engaging again.

-The ECU was chipped with a USDM GSR Basemap which then looks for a VPS and if its not there, it'll throw a CEL.
-We are using his old y7 engine harness with VTEC and VTEC Pressure Switch wire added.
-Yes, the VTEC wire is plugged in and yup.

All Problem Solved.
__________________
CD5_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:11 PM   #4
Onatop
Jr Member
 
Onatop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: AZ biatch
Posts: 176
Onatop will become famous soon enough
Default

i was about to mention that about gaydm equipment lol but glad u got it figured out bro
Onatop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:56 PM   #5
Pata078
Powered by my
 
Pata078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 7,232
Pata078 will become famous soon enough
Default

wtf is VPS?
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris42192 View Post
im searching for a FO' DO' FO' MO' HOE'
Pata078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 06:59 PM   #6
Onatop
Jr Member
 
Onatop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: AZ biatch
Posts: 176
Onatop will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pata078 View Post
wtf is VPS?
vtak pressure switch
Onatop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 07:00 PM   #7
Pata078
Powered by my
 
Pata078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 7,232
Pata078 will become famous soon enough
Default

__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris42192 View Post
im searching for a FO' DO' FO' MO' HOE'
Pata078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2010, 06:36 AM   #8
CD5_SiR
Jr Member
 
CD5_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MN
Posts: 74
CD5_SiR is on a distinguished road
Default

Haha. It's all good.
__________________
CD5_SiR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003 - 2008, HondaShowOff.com