Go Back   HondaShowOff.com Forums > Car Talk > Maintenance & Detailing

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-28-2006, 08:49 PM   #1
95honda1339
Noob
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 23
95honda1339 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default oil catch tank

What is a resevior oil catch tank, and what does it do, and do you really need one?
95honda1339 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2006, 08:54 PM   #2
VBRacer
Regular User
 
VBRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 453
VBRacer is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to VBRacer Send a message via MSN to VBRacer Send a message via Yahoo to VBRacer
Default

It goes on the hose that connects the valve cover and the intake.

It catches the oil that may travel through the hose.

They aren't necessary unless you are on the track.
__________________
1995 Chevy Monte Carlo LS - 3.1 V6
VBRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2006, 05:28 PM   #3
SweetHonda24
HSO Admin Staff
 
SweetHonda24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 4,117
SweetHonda24 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to SweetHonda24
Default

usually turbo cars run them as a way to relieve pressure in the motor. so no, you probably don't need one.
__________________
SweetHonda24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2007, 10:09 PM   #4
92LX
Regular User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 197
92LX is an unknown quantity at this point
Default

Keeps oil out of your intake manifold...nice way of keeping things nice and tidy on the inside.
92LX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 07:15 PM   #5
tinnman
Noob
 
tinnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: good ol GA
Posts: 16
tinnman is on a distinguished road
Default

ok (i see this is old) i was just searchin around on here sense im new and all. and i was thinkin about gettin a oil catch can. becuz i found a chrome one. and im tryin to find lots of chrome stuff for under the hood (show car) anyway i dont have a turbo or anything i was just wonderin if it'd be stupid to get it? are people gonna be like dude your stupid you dont even have a turbo?
tinnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 10:38 PM   #6
Pata078
Powered by my
 
Pata078's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 7,232
Pata078 will become famous soon enough
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tinnman View Post
ok (i see this is old) i was just searchin around on here sense im new and all. and i was thinkin about gettin a oil catch can. becuz i found a chrome one. and im tryin to find lots of chrome stuff for under the hood (show car) anyway i dont have a turbo or anything i was just wonderin if it'd be stupid to get it? are people gonna be like dude your stupid you dont even have a turbo?
You could put one one. no worries.

I saw an accord at the Track last time I went with 2 catch cans. It was freken stock!!
__________________


Quote:
Originally Posted by chris42192 View Post
im searching for a FO' DO' FO' MO' HOE'
Pata078 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 05:31 AM   #7
tinnman
Noob
 
tinnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: good ol GA
Posts: 16
tinnman is on a distinguished road
Default

cool i might go head and order one then. just for some extra chrome lol my strut bar should be in soon too. just doing lil things to give people something to look at
tinnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2003 - 2008, HondaShowOff.com